Welcome to Liverpool Confidential
Reset Password
The Confidential websites will be undergoing routine updates. This may cause the sites to go offline. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

You are here: Liverpool ConfidentialEntertainmentTheatre & Comedy.

Capstone Theatre autumn season listings

Ibsen, Shakespeare, folk, classical and dance to get you going

Published on September 11th 2013.


Capstone Theatre autumn season listings

THE Capstone Theatre, the venue that makes Everton an even more exciting place than Leighton Baines, kicks off its autumn season this week.

There's a bold a programme of live music, dance and theatre for all your bearded chin-stroking needs - and that's just you ladies.

In a build up to its Liverpool International Jazz Festival in 2014, the Shaw Street theatre will continue to champion new jazz music. Baroque and early music is also featured for the first time.

It begins this Thursday with two "performances" from Manchester based electro-acoustic collective MANTIS.

Other musical highlights of the season include three free Saturday afternoon concerts of Indian Music organised by Liverpool Hope University partners Milapfest and a special event by Grand Union Orchestra.

Grand Union OrchesterGrand Union OrchestraMediva, Dance to the Music of Time looks at songs and instrumentals for dancing in the 12th-15th centuries and Northern BaroqueBaroque and Roll and How to Flee from SorrowCorelli Talks to Stradella featuring writer Frank Cottrell Boyce (part of the Cornerstone Festival).

There's also English folk-rock from The Albion Band, celebrating their 40th anniversary, plus Trembling Bells and contemporary music from Marij Van Gorkom, revolutionary Australian improvising trio The Necks and a rare concert by Serbian pianist Branka Parlić. 

Sell a Door performs Henrik Ibsen’s Ghosts and Uncanny Theatre presents Instructions for a Better Life. Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing is staged replete with swordfights and flamenco dancing, by Traffic of the Stage, and performance artists Natasha Davis and Two Destination Language present a show in November.

Who, what, when and how much

 

Mantis

Thursday 12 September, 8:00pm and 9:00pm (2 consecutive concerts)£11.50/£8.50

Magnus Öström

Wednesday 18 September, 7:30pm, £16.50/£14

Milapest present Tarang

Saturday 28 September, 1:00pm (Lunch available from 12:00pm), Free 

Mediva: A Dance to the Music of Time

Wednesday 2 October, 7:30pm, £14/£11.50

PARRJAZZ presents The Robert Castelli Boom Quartet

Thursday 3 October, 7:30pm, £8/£5

John Turville Trio

Friday 4 October, 7:30pm, £14/£11.50

The Albion Band

Saturday 5 October, 7:30pm, £14/£11.50

Sell a Door presents Henrik Ibsen’s Ghosts

Monday 7 October, 7:30pm, £11.50/£9.50

Merseyside Dance Initiative presents Northern Dances

Thursday 10 October, 7:30pm, £11/£9

Martin Speake Trio

Friday 11 October, 7:30pm, £14/£11.50

Grand Union Orchestra

Saturday 12 October, 7:30pm, £13.50/£10.50/£7.50

Trembling Bells and Mike HeronThe Circle is Unbroken

Tuesday 15 October, 7:30pm, £14/£11.50

RLPO Ensemble 10/10The New Mersey Sound

Wednesday 16 October,  7:30pm, £10

Uncanny Theatre presents Instructions for a Better Life

Thursday 24 October,  7:30pm, £11.50/£9.50

John Law’s Congregation

Friday 25 October,  7:30pm, £14/£11.50

Milapfest presents Samyo Too

Saturday 26 October,  1.00pm, Free 

Sonic Interactions

Monday 28 October,  7:30pm, £11.50/£9.50

The Necks

Friday 1 November,  7:30pm, £16.50/£14

Jimmy Carl Black Memorial Barbque BandScreening and Concert

Saturday 2 November,  7:30pm, £11.50/£9.50

Liverpool Guitar Society: Introspection

Sunday 3 November,  7:30pm, £5/£3 (Door)

Northern Baroque: Baroque and Roll

Tuesday 5 November,  7:30pm, £14/£11.50

Matt Ridley Quartet

Friday 8 November,  7:30pm, £14/£11.50

Branka Parlić – The Cone Gatherers

Tuesday 12 November,  7:30pm, £14/£11.50

Traffic of the Stage presents Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing

Thursday 14 November,  7:30pm, £11.50/£9.50

Double Bill: Natasha Davis and Two Destination Language

Friday 15 November,  7:30pm, £13.50/£11.50

Cornerstone Arts Festival presents How to Flee From Sorrow: Corelli talks to Stradella, featuring Frank Cottrell Boyce

Thursday 21 November,  7:30pm, £10/£8

Cornerstone Arts Festival presents St Cecilia’s Day Concert: Britten and Purcell

Friday 22 November,  7:30pm, £10/£8

Cornerstone Arts Festival presents Joanna MacGregor: The Goldberg Variations

Sunday 24 November,  7:30pm, £10/£8

Milapfest presents Snehasish Mozumder

Saturday 30 November,  1:00pm, Free 

Cornerstone Arts Festival Choral Concert

Saturday 14 December,  7:30pm, £10/£8

All tickets are available on 0844 8000 410 or online

Like what you see? Enter your email to sign up for our newsletters which are chock-a-block with more great reviews, news, deals and savings.

To post this comment, you need to login.Please complete your login information.
OR CREATE AN ACCOUNT HERE..
Or you can login using Facebook.

Latest Rants

Peter Coyle

i wish i had been there…it sounds like something joyous and anarchic...the way the article is…

 Read more
Anonymous

Couldn't agree more. This is a super piece. Ken would be proud that not a penny of public money was…

 Read more
Reader Xxx

The review was indeed brilliant - congratulations Angie. The show must have been very special -…

 Read more
Claudia Boulton

Thanks Angie for your brilliant piece, so glad you wrote it! Now i know what was going on! Being in…

 Read more

Explore The Site

© Mark Garner t/a Confidential Direct 2017

Privacy | Careers | Website by: Planet Code